President Pratibha Patil’s farewell address today


President Pratibha Patil’s farewell address today
President Pratibha Patil’s farewell address today

New Delhi:  As UPA candidate Pranab Mukherjee is ready to be sworn in as the next President of India on Wednesday, Parliamentarians are likely to give a warm send-off to outgoing President Pratibha Patil on Monday.

The farewell ceremony will be attended by Vice President Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Congress president Sonia Gandhi and Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar along with members of Parliament from both the Upper and lower House.

The outgoing President will be giving her farewell speech at 5 pm today evening.

Yesterday evening, Manmohan Singh, Sonia Gandhi, BJP veteran LK Advani and several Union Ministers and political leaders attended the farewell ‘At Home’ hosted by outgoing President Pratibha Patil.

Hamid Ansari, Meira Kumar, Home Minister P Chidambaram, Chief Justice of India SH Kapadia, Chief Election Commissioner VS Sampat, National Security Advisor Shiv Shankar, Cabinet Secretary Ajit Seth Menon and the three service chiefs also attended the party.

However, President-elect Pranab Mukherjee did not attend the At Home.

Mukherjee, the ruling United Progressive Alliance (UPA), candidate, was declared the winner after he won more than half the votes cast in the July 19 presidential poll.

Mukherjee on Sunday won the race for Rashtrapati Bhavan with a huge margin, leaving his rival PA Sangma bruised.

Mukherjee would be sworn in president on Wednesday


You must be logged in to post a comment Login