Deadlock Between Pakistan Cricket Board and Players Over Central Contracts Ends

Karachi: The deadlock between the Pakistan Cricket Board and the players has finally ended after the two agreed to a formula, under which clauses of the central contracts would not be changed.

According to well-informed sources in the PCB, the players have dropped their demands to be awarded a win bonus for victory in every match, while the Board has agreed to enhance their pay scales and also give cash awards to top individual performances in all three formats. (Pakistan Cricket Spot-Fixing: A Chronology)

“In the new contracts that would be announced this week, the players will get around 25 to 50 per cent more in their match fees and central contract monthly retainers,” a source told PTI.

“And the clauses of the contracts would not be changed and there will be an annual increase of 10 per cent in the players retainers and fees,” he said.

Under the new formula, there will be no win bonus for matches but the board will give bonuses for winning a series. For example if Pakistan can defeat India or any of the top three ICC ranked teams, the players will get a bonus, which will be equivalent to 350 per cent of their match fees Similarly if they beat lower ranked teams their bonus will be 100 per cent of their match fees. (Pakistan Fixing Trio Start Long Road to Redemption)

For individual performances the board has agreed to pay 3,25,000 rupees for a batsman scoring hundred in any format and 5,75,000 for a double century.

Similarly bowlers taking five wickets in an innings will get a bonus of 3,25,000 and 1.1 million for taking 10 wickets in a match.

The board has held up announcing the new central contracts since the last six months. (Man Who Fired at Wasim Akram Gives Written Apology)

Although the last central contracts awarded in 2014 had expired on 31st December, due to the World Cup and some issues with players over negotiations the board had extended the same contracts for six months.

“The new contracts will be awarded from July 2015 to June 2016,” the source said.

It has also been decided that all former and present captains will be given A category contracts including Misbah-ul-Haq, Azhar Ali, Shahid Afridi, Younis Khan and Muhammad Hafeez.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login