State Assembly results: 4-0 for BJP, stunning show by AAP in Delhi

BJP540New Delhi/Jaipur/Bhopal/Raipur: The BJP routed the Congress in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh and emerged as the single largest party in Delhi on Sunday.

The Congress had smelled defeat but the magnitude of defeat would have caught it in surprise as the party has failed to win even one of the four states in the recently concluded assembly elections, results of which were declared today.

Putting up a brave face, Congress president Sonia Gandhi said, “These results call for deep introspection. We will take necessary steps to correct our mistakes and our way of functioning.”

Importantly, she also said that the party will take a decision on choosing the prime ministerial candidate for 2014.

Party vice president Rahul Gandhi said, “The people have given us a message through these elections, have heard this message from our hearts.”

The Congress party has the capability to stand up to the expectations of the country. As a party we would move to a system to give serious space to the common man,” he added.

On the other hand the BJP, which has its eyes set on the big battle in 2014, appeared confident to form government in all the four states that went to polls. The saffron party has registered landslide victories in Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan and may manage to hold on to power in Chhattisgarh.

Assembly elections result 2013 results, dubbed as the semi-final, will play an important role in shaping politics in the country ahead of the big battle in 2014.

The big talking point after the results would be Narendra Modi charisma and his steady rise as the tallest leader in the BJP.

The other important takeaway would be the emergence of Aam Admi Party (AAP) and whether it will be able to replicate its success in Delhi elsewhere in the state.

Delhi assembly elections 2013

Delhi polls 2013 were the most closely-watched elections in recent times. The Congress was decimated in the state and in a shocker the three-time Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit lost to the debutant Arvind Kejriwal of the AAP.

Out of the total 70 seats, the BJP has won in 32 seats, the AAP 28 seats, the Congress just 8 seats and others in 2.

In-depth Delhi poll results: LIVE – Delhi election results 2013: BJP battles AAP’s broom, Sheila Dikshit blown away

Rajasthan assembly elections 2013

Congress under Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot accepted defeat after the state voted overwhelmingly in favour of the BJP led by former chief minister Vasundhara Raje. Out of 199 seats out of the total 200, the BJP has won in 162 seats while the Congress is ahead in 21 seats, others in 16 seats. The BSP candidate from Churu JP Mehgwal died on November 16.

In-depth Rajasthan poll results: LIVE – Rajasthan election results 2013: In Gehlot’s home district, BJP win 9 out of 10 seats

Madhya Pradesh assembly polls 2013

Two-time Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan of the BJP has overcome anti-incumbency on the back of his popularity and people friendly policies of his government.

Out of the total 230 seats, the BJP has won in 166 seats while the Congress won only 57 seats and others have won 7 seats.

In-depth Madhya Pradesh poll results: LIVE – Madhya Pradesh Assembly Election Results 2013: Shiv’raj’ continues, big win for BJP

Chhattisgarh assembly elections 2013

Chief Minister Raman Singh managed to retain his state after the BJP and the Congress was involved in a neck-and-neck fight in the earlier part of the day..

Out of the total 90 seats the BJP has won 49 seats, the Congress 39 seats and others have won 2 seats.

In-depth Chhattisgarh poll results: LIVE – Chhattisgarh Assembly Election results 2013: Ajit Jogi concedes defeat

You must be logged in to post a comment Login