Lalu-Nitish beat BJP in ‘semi-final’, all set for ‘final’ in 2015

New Delhi/Patna: With the Lalu Prasad Yadav-Nitish Kumar combine having gained the upper hand in the bypoll held for 10 seats in Bihar, all eyes are now on the changing political dynamics ahead of the big battle in 2015, when assembly elections would be held in the state. 

Though the ‘grand alliance’ managed to win only six seats, the victory certainly comes as psychological advantage to the alliance partners after the washout in Lok Sabha polls. 

The RJD and the JD(U) dubbed the BJP’s loss as a indication of people’s resentment to the policies of the Narendra Modi government at the Centre only to elicit a strong response from the state unit of the BJP. 

“Modi ji’s government has nothing to do with the poll results”, said party spokesperson Shahnawaz Hussain. 

However, the results presents a great challenge to new BJP president Amit Shah as he works to replicate his Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha success elsewhere in the country. 

While Lalu and Nitish may have no other option than to stick together and put up a united fight against the BJP in the assembly elections, the bypoll results may also be the first step in what can turn out to be a pan-India consolidation of anti-BJP forces. 

By poll results as it happened: 

2:15 pm JD(U) leader and former chief minister Nitish Kumar expresses happiness with the bypoll victory. 

“The election was very important and the voters of Bihar have voted in clear terms, I thank them for the same,” he said. 

“I had made no claims during the entire poll campaign. But there were many others who were making claims of victory. The clear verdict, which has come close to the Lok Sabha polls, indicates that the people of Bihar has rejected the politics of divisiveness. The results is a victory of the politics of harmony, Nitish stressed. 

“The results could have been better. An experiment was done and it has turned out to be successful,” he added. 

1:55 pm There was some problem in NDA leadership in Bihar. I accept defeat on behalf on NDA’s Bihar unit. Reason for defeat could that there is no Bhumihar face in Modi cabinet, says Upendra Kushwaha of Rashtriya Lok Samata Party . 

1:30 pm Congress’s Ajeet Kumsar Sharma wins Bhagalpur seat in Bihar bypoll. The seat was with the BJP since 1990. 

1:22 pm We have won two bypolls after coming to power,a clear indication that there is support for our policies, says Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah. 

1:18 pm All have gained from the alliance (RJD-JDU-Congress), a positive sign, says Congress’ Shakeel Ahmad. 

1:15 pm Awadesh Singh of BJP wins Hajipur bypoll. 

1:05 pm RJD registers one more victory in Bihar bypoll. Party candidate Randhir Kumar Singh wins the prestigious Chapra seat. 

1 pm Lalu Prasad Yadav has expressed happiness at the victory of ‘grand alliance’ in Bihar. The RJD chief was rushed to Asian Heart Institute in Mumbai early today for a ‘routine check up’. 

The 66-year-old leader has been suffering from heart-related ailments and is likely to undergo heart valve replacement surgery, reports said. 

12:55 pm Nitish Kumar’s JD(U) register first win in Bihar bypoll. Party candidate Rishi Mishra wins Jale seat. It was previously held by Hukm Deo Narayan Yadav of the BJP. 

12:50 pm Niranjan Ram of the BJP wins Mohania seat in Bihar. The seat was previously held by the JD(U). 

12:45 pm BJP’s Ramnarayan Mandal wins Banka seat in Bihar. 

12:37 pm The results are not to our expectation. We had thought that we would be able to beat the two vote banks of Lalu ji and Nitish ji but we failed to do so. The state leadership takes full responsibility of the defeat and it has nothing to do with Modi ji’s government at Centre, says Shahnawaz Hussain of BJP. 

12:33 We could not prepare fully otherwise we would have won all 10 seats. But the result is enough to send across a “message” in the country, says JD(U) president Sharad Yadav. 

12:30 pm Shirmoani Akali Dal (SAD) candidate Jeet Mohinder Singh wins Talwandi Sabo seat in Punjab. The seat was vacated by Harsimrat Kaur Badal after she was elected to the Lok Sabha. Patiala, the other seat where bypoll was held in the state, was won by Perneet Kaur of the Congress. 

12:20 pm BJP vice president BS Yeddyurappa son BY Raghavendra wins Shikaripura seat in Karnataka. The seat felt vacant after Yeddyurappa won the Lok Sabha election from Shimoga. 

12:01 pm The Lalu Prasad Yadav-Nitish Kumar appears to have halted the BJP’s victory march in Bihar. The ‘grand alliance’ of RJD, JD(U) and Congress has won/leading in 7 seats of the 10 that went to polls. RJD has won Mohiuddinagar and Rajnagar seats, while the BJP has won Narkatiaganj seat and is ahead in two other seats. 

While the BJP has been quick to dismiss any relationship between the poll drubbing and the performance of the Narendra Modi-led NDA government at the Centre, the opposition parties claim that the poll results are indicative of the weakening of the “Modi wave”. 

11:20 am RJD’s Ajay Kumar Bulganin beats Nityanand Rai of BJP to win Mohiuddinnagar seat in Bihar. 

11:10 am BJP’s Rashmi Varma wins Narkatiganj seat in Bihar. 

11:05 am Congress’ NY Gopalakrishna wins Bellary Rural seat in Karnataka by a margin of over 33142 votes. 

11 am BJP’s Gopal Parmar has won against Rajkumar Gore of Congress from Agar seat in Madhya Pradesh 

10:45 am If the latest trends translate into seats, the ‘grand alliance’ of RJD, JD(U) and Congress is set to win 6 of the 10 seats where bypolls were held in Bihar. The BJP is ahead only in four seats Narkatiaganj, Rajnagar and Mohania. 

10:25 am Congress candidate Perneet Kaur wins Patiala bypoll by over 23,000 votes. SAD leading in Talwandi Sabo. 

10:05 am The united opposition of RJD, JD(U) and Congress is giving a tough fight to BJP in Bihar. As per the latest trends, the ‘grand alliance’ and the BJP is ahead in five seats each of the 10 seats that went to polls. The BJP was ahead in Jale seat in early rounds before the JD(U) surged ahead. 

9:45 am Bihar – latest trends : BJP ahead in Rajnagar, Jale, Mohania, Hajipur, Banka and Narkatiaganj. Grand alliance leading in Mohiuddinagar (RJD), Chapra (RJD), Bhagalpur (Congress) and Parbatta (JDU). 

9:40 am BJP leading in all three seats – Bahoriband, Vijayraghavgarh and Agar – in MP. 

9:35 am Karanataka bypoll trends: Congress ahead in Chikodi-Sadalaga and Bellary Rural. BJP leading in Shikaripura. 

9:15 am Bihar – latest trends: BJP ahead in Rajnagar, Jale, Mohania. Grand alliance leading in Mohiuddinagar (RJD), Chapra (RJD), Narkatiaganj (Congress), Bhagalpur (Congress), Parbatta (JDU). Trends awaited for Hajipur, Banka. 

8:55 am Bihar – first trends: BJP candidate ahead in Rajnagar, Jale, Narkatiaganj and Mohania; RJD leading in Mohiuddinagar and Chapra. 

8:45 am Madhya Pradesh bypoll: BJP leading in Bahoriband, Agar. 

8:30 am Congress’ Perneet Kaur takes early lead in Patiala, Punjab 

You must be logged in to post a comment Login