India vs England 2012: 1st T20 – Live Score

Over 18 || Score 138/4

Ashwin to bowl his final over. Butler smashes him for a SIX towards midwicket! And then one ball later, Samit Patel launches him for a SIXover wide of long on. 15 runs from the over!


Over 17 || Score 123/4

Jadeja to bowl his third over. Six runs from it. India have done well to dry the runs. England have looked off colour ever since Hales and Wright were dismissed.


Over 16 || Score 117/4

Chawla to bowl his third over. Much better over from him, just 4 singles from it.


Over 15 || Score 113/4

Yuvrak Singh concedes a boundary in his last over. Ends his superb spell. 4-0-19-3


Over 14 || Score 106/4

Piyush Chawla brought back into the attack. Five runs from the over.


Over 13 || Score 101/4

Yuvraj Singh to continue and he gets another breakthrough! This time Whales gets an inside edge that crashes onto the stumps. And excellent innings from the right-hander comes to an end. Morgan, the skipper comes to the crease. And Yuvraj picks his third wicket, big one of Morgan!

EJG Morgan c Rahane b Yuvraj Singh 5 (9b)

AD Hales b Yuvraj Singh 56 (35b)


Over 12 || Score 98/2

Jadeja comes into the attack. Five runs from the over.


Over 11 || Score 93/2

Yuvraj to bowl his second over. Wright shimmies down the track, doesn’t connect well, hits it high and Ajinkya Rahane takes an easy catch at long-off. England lose their second wicket. Wright and Hales have added 68 runs within no time. Four runs from the over.

LJ Wright c Rahane b Yuvraj Singh 34 (21b)


Over 10 || Score 89/1

Dinda is brought into the attack. Dinda bowled some good Yorkers, didn’t get a wicket though. Eight runs from the over.


Over 9 || Score 81/1

Yuvraj Singh comes into the attack. Hales reaches his 50 off just 26 balls! Five runs from the over.

Alex Hales 51(28b)


Over 8 || Score 76/1

Virat Kohli brought into the attack. And Kohli misses a run-out chance! Wright smashes one straight down the ground for a Six! Ten runs from the over. England are scoring over 9 per over.


Over 7 || Score 66/1

Chawla comes into the attack. He begins with a short ball and Wright dispatches that for a boundary! Chawla followed it with a dot ball but Wright guided the next ball for another boundary at third-man. And Wright hits another boundary, this time towards deep cover. Chawla bowls a short ball and Wright smashes that to deep covers for another boundary! Fifteen from the over.


Over 6 || Score 51/1

Ashwin to continue. Hales defends the first ball and then charges down the track and smashes the ball over long on for a Six! And Hales follows it with another boundary next ball! England reach their 50 and Hales is looking dangerous!


Over 5 || Score 39/1

Spin from both ends, Jadeja brought into the attack. Hales welcomes him with a Six off the second ball. Hales follows it with a boundary next ball. Thirteen runs from the over.


Over 4 || Score 27/1

Ashwin to continue. And he gets the first breakthrough! Lumb who played a maiden over was under pressure and he attempted a sweep, didn’t connect and is back to the pavilion! Luke Wright is the new batsman. Six runs from the over,

MJ Lumb lbw b Ashwin 1 (10b)


Over 3 || Score 21/0

Awana comes into the attack. And he starts his international career with a short ball and hales pulls that for a couple. The Indians have appealed for a run-out, Lumb was in though. Awana bowls a good length ball, Hales shimmies down the track and hits it over covers for a boundary! Hales is looking dangerous, he has decided to take the pressure to the debutant. And Hales gets an inside edge off the fourth ball, that produces another boundary!Twelve runs from the over.


Over 2 || Score 9/0

Spin from the other end, Ashwin comes into the attack. He begins with five dot balls. Lumb is careful against him, not in a hurry. And Ashwin begins with a maiden!


Over 1 || Score 9/0

Ashoke Dinda to bowl the first over. Alex Hales and Michael Lumb open for England. And he begins with a dot ball. Lumb takes a single off the second. Dinda is bowling at a good pace and Ganguly in the commentary team is falling short of words describing Dinda’s talent. Hales defends the first ball he faces for no run. Dinda fires another fuller length ball and Hales plays it on the off side for no run. Dinda fires in fractionally short and Hales handsomely pulls that for a boundary Dinda follows it with another short ball and Hales has no problem pulling that for his consecutive boundary! 9 from the over.


India and England have played 5 T20 matches against each other so far. England are ahead with 3 wins as compared to India’s 3.

England squad: 1 Alex Hales, 2 Michael Lumb, 3 Luke Wright, 4 Eoin Morgan (skipper), 5 Samit Patel, 6 Jos Buttler (wk), 7 Tim Bresnan, 8 James Tredwell, 9 Stuart Meaker, 10 Danny Briggs, 11 Jade Dernbach

Indian squad: 1 Gautam Gambhir, 2 Ajinkya Rahane, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Yuvraj Singh, 5 Suresh Raina, 6 MS Dhoni (skipper), 7 R Ashwin, 8 Ravindra Jadeja, 9 Piyush Chawla, 10 Ashok Dinda, 11 Parwinder Awana

TOSS: Dhoni won the toss and he has decided to bowl first.

After suffering a humiliating loss against England in the Test series, India would want to get back to winning ways as they meet the Poms in the first T20 match to be played at Pune.

Under-fire MS Dhoni would want to bury the past and begin with an impressive performance. Most of the Indian players have been out of form of late, and they all will be determined to put a good show. India would want Virat Kohli to continue his great form in the limited overs.

England on the other hand would want to continue their winning momentum. Eoin Morgan, their new skipper would be under some sort of pressure. The top brass of the England squad delivered in the Test series and they would be high on confidence after defeating the Indian team on their home soil after 28 years.

India squad

MS Dhoni (c & wk), R Ashwin, P Awana, PP Chawla, AB Dinda, G Gambhir, RA Jadeja, V Kohli, B Kumar, A Mithun, AM Rahane, SK Raina, AT Rayudu, RG Sharma, Yuvraj Singh

England squad

EJG Morgan (c), JM Bairstow, TT Bresnan, DR Briggs, JC Buttler (wk), JW Dernbach, AD Hales, JAR Harris, MJ Lumb, SC Meaker, SR Patel, JE Root, JC Tredwell, LJ Wright


You must be logged in to post a comment Login